Woman of the Year

Woman of the Year

Every March, in honor of Women’s History Month the Assembly Women’s Caucus sponsors and organizes the Assembly Woman of the Year event. The Woman of the Year event was founded in 1987 by then Assemblywoman Bev Hansen (R) and Assemblywoman Sally Tanner (D). In the 20th Assembly District I encourage constituents to nominate women who are leaders in all sectors of society. In addition to inviting the Woman of the Year to join me in Sacramento for the official ceremony, I host an event locally to honor the Woman of the Year along with additional honorees in various categories. I hope that you can join me in recognizing the amazing women of the 20th Assembly District. Please see  Nomination Form for more information and to submit a nomination. Nominations are taken on a rolling basis. 

20th Assembly District Women’s Hall of Fame
2018 Honorees
Cheif Sheryl Boykins - 2018 Woman of the Year
Gloria Ortega- Business Honoree
Lara Calvert - Human Services Honoree

2017 Honorees
Moina Shaiq - 2017 Woman of the Year
Sue Chan - Social Justice Honoree
Helen Kennedy -  Education Honoree
Jo Loss - Lifetime Achievement Honoree
Susan Ojeda-Cobos - Business Honoree 

2016 Honorees
Pat Gacoscos - Woman of the Year
Lori Baptista - Health Honoree
Pamela Evans - Environmental Honoree
Janet Lemmons - Business Honoree
Maria Ochoa - Education Honoree
Moina Shaiq - Social Justice Honoree
League of Women Voters, Eden Area - Lifetime Achievement Award

2015 Honorees
Gail Steele - 2015 Woman of the Year
Barbara Aro-Valle - Education Honoree
Patti Carothers - STEAM Honoree
Freddye Davis - Social Justice Honoree
Ana Apodaca - Health Honoree
Aisha Knowles - Law & Public Safety Honoree
Dr. Fatemeh Shirazi - Business Honoree

2014 Honoree
Hafsa Burt - 2014 Woman of the Year

2013 Honoree
Marita Cheng- 2013 Woman of the Year