Bill to Improve Public Safety on BART is Signed

Monday, July 10, 2017

SACRAMENTO – Assembly Bill (AB) 730, authored by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward), will make a public safety program administered by Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) permanent. Specifically, AB 730 will grant permanent authority to BART to issue a prohibition order to bar a person from entering BART property for 30, 60 or 90 days for committing certain acts that includes robbery, domestic battery, or violence against BART riders and personnel.


“On behalf of BART, I would like to thank Assemblymember Quirk for authoring AB 730, which makes permanent BART’s prohibition order program.  Employee and rider safety is a top priority at BART, and after three years of program implementation, BART has found the authority to exclude individuals who commit serious crimes on BART property, a great asset to an effective public safety strategy. We are thankful to the Legislature and Governor for understanding the merits of this program and how it is still warranted today,” stated Rebecca Saltzman, President of the BART Board.


“I am thankful for the time Governor Jerry Brown and his staff took to learn about the extent of violent crime on BART. BART’s prohibition order program has protected employees and patrons, and has encouraged prompt reporting of criminal activity. I have worked closely with BART to ensure that strong protections exist for those who receive prohibition orders, including detailed appeals and cancellation processes for issued orders, as well as dedicated intervention staff to connect vulnerable riders with counseling and health services,” Assemblymember Quirk commented upon learning Governor Brown signed his bill into law. 


AB 730 will go into effect January 1, 2018.



Elected in 2012, Bill Quirk brings his PhD in astrophysics and career as an educator and scientist to the State Assembly.  He is the Chair of the Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials. He is also Chair of the Select Committee on California’s Clean Energy Economy. He is a member of the Agriculture, Public Safety, Revenue and Taxation, and Utilities and Energy Committees.