Assemblymember Quirk Announces 2016 “Distinguished Women of the Year”

For immediate release:

HAYWARD – California State Assemblymember Bill Quirk is pleased to announce the list of Honorees for his 3rd Annual Women of the Year Celebration. Every March, the State Assembly honors women from across the state for their remarkable contributions to the community in celebration of Women’s History Month. These women were selected because of their significant contributions and accomplishments to the 20th Assembly District which includes the cities of Hayward, Union City, the northern portion of Fremont and the unincorporated communities of Ashland, Castro Valley, Cherryland, Fairview, San Lorenzo and Sunol.

“These women are champions in their respective fields and work tirelessly to make a real difference.”  This year’s districtwide ‘Women of the Year’ Honoree is Union City Councilmember Pat Gacoscos. The Health Honoree is Lori Baptista of Tiburcio Vasquez Health Center, the Environmental Honoree is Pamela Evans of the Alameda County Green Business Program, the Business Honoree is Janet Lemmons of Rowell Saddlery & Western Wear, the Education Honoree is Dr. Maria Ochoa of Chabot College, the Social Justice Honoree is Moina Shaiq a Community Activist, and the Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient is the League of Women Voters-Eden Area.

Please join us in recognizing this amazing group of women on Saturday, March 5th, from 1:30pm-3:00pm, at Chabot College, Building 700, 25555 Hesperian Blvd., Hayward, CA.

Elected in 2012, Bill Quirk brings his PhD in astrophysics and career as an educator and scientist to the State Assembly.  He is the Chair of the Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Chair of the Assembly Select Committee on California’s Clean Energy Economy, and a member of the Assembly Committees on Agriculture, Appropriations, Revenue & Taxation, and Utilities & Commerce.


Website of Assemblymember Quirk: