California State Assembly Passes AB 33 – Creating the Energy Integration Advisory Council

For immediate release:

SACRAMENTO – Today, the California State Assembly voted 64-3 to approve Assembly Bill 33, by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward), which would help to ensure that California is able to successfully meet its renewable energy goals.

AB 33 would establish the Energy Integration Advisory Council (Council) consisting of representatives from the California Energy Commission (CEC), the Public Utilities Commission (CPUC), the California Independent System Operator (CAISO), the California Air Resources Board (CARB), and the State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB).  The Council would then be charged with analyzing various strategies to integrate a 40%, a 50%, and a greater than 50% Renewables Portfolio Standard (RPS) in order to minimize over-generation and eliminate the need for energy curtailment. 

“As the Legislature stands poised to codify the Governor’s goal of increasing from 33% to 50% our electricity derived from renewable sources by the year 2050, it is imperative that there be a comprehensive analysis of how best to achieve that goal in a thoughtful and cost-effective manner,” said Assemblymember Quirk.  “While some of the entities that would comprise the Council currently meet on an ad hoc basis, AB 33 will formalize this process and give specific directives to consider the benefits of the various strategies to the health, safety, and welfare of California’s residents.”

Today, AB 33 passed a major legislative hurdle.  By passing out of the Assembly on a vote of 64-3, the bill now heads to the Senate with strong bipartisan support.  After the vote, Assemblymember Quirk said, “I am extremely pleased at the Assembly’s recognition of the need for in-depth analysis of how the State is going to move forward with its renewable energy goals, rather than abdicating all responsibility to administrative agencies.”


Elected in 2012, Bill Quirk brings his PhD in astrophysics and career as an educator and scientist to the State Assembly.  He is the Chair of the Assembly Committee on Public Safety and a member of the Committees on Agriculture, Appropriations, Revenue & Taxation, and Utilities & Commerce.