Assemblymember Quirk Announces AD20 2014 Inaugural “Distinguished Women of the Year”

For immediate release:

Assemblymember Quirk on the Assembly floor with Woman of the Year honoree Hafsa Burt

HAYWARD – California State Assemblymember Bill Quirk is pleased to announce the Inaugural Honorees of deserving women residing or working within Assembly District 20. These women were selected because of their significant contributions or accomplishments throughout District 20. Every March, the State Assembly honors women from across the state for their remarkable contributions to the community in celebration of Women’s History Month.

AD20’s Inaugural “Distinguished Women of the Year” Honorees, along with their area of recognition are:  Hafsa Burt – AD20 Woman of the Year; Dr. Norma Ambriz-Galaviz –Education; Betty DeForest – Lifetime Achievement; Lilian Galedo – Social Justice; Rahima Haya – Health; Pamela Ross – Law; and Soraya Wright – Business.

Please join us in recognizing this amazing group of women on Saturday, March 22nd, 1:30pm-3:00pm, Chabot College, Building 700, 25555 Hesperian Blvd, Hayward, CA.

Woman of the Year honoree Hafsa Burt with Assemblymember Quirk, Assembly Speaker John Perez, and Assemblymembers Lowenthal and Conway

The 20th Assembly District includes all or portions of the following communities: Ashland, Castro Valley, Cherryland, Fairview, Fremont, Hayward, San Lorenzo, Sunol, and Union City.

For more, visit Quirk’s Web site at the address below. Elected in 2012, Bill Quirk brings his PhD in astrophysics and career as an educator and scientist to the State Assembly. He is a member of the powerful Assembly Rules Committee and has been appointed to the Committees on Agriculture, Appropriations, Public Safety, and Utilities & Commerce.