Making College Affordable – Cash for College

California now offers two ways to help you and your family afford college

Cal Grant Financial Aid Program - Guarantees financial aid based on need to every qualified student who applies.

Middle Class Scholarship - This program, created by the Legislature, significantly reduces fees at the California State University and University of California for families who qualify.

In order to qualify, students must fill out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the California Dream Act Application between October 1, 2021 – March 2, 2022.

The California Student Aid Commission is offering workshops to help students complete their application. At these workshops, advisors will be available to discuss financial aid opportunities and assist students with completing the FAFSA form.

There will be several virtual workshops throughout our area. Please email the contact listed to pre-register and to receive the Zoom Link. I hope you are able to attend one of these workshops.

October 4th
5 p.m. to 8 p.m.
CA School for the Deaf
39350 Gallaudet Drive, Fremont
For more information, contact Vanessa Cristobal at vcristobal@csdf-cde.ca.gov

October 12th
6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Arroyo High School
15701 Lorenzo Avenue, San Lorenzo
For more information, contact Shannon Bode sbode@slzusd.org

October 14th
6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Tennyson High School
27035 Whitman Street, Hayward
For more information, contact Diana Medina dmedina@husd.k12.ca.us

October 28th
6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Castro Valley High School
19400 Santa Maria Avenue, Castro Valley
For more information, contact Allison Zuckerbrow azuckerbrow@cv.k12.ca.us

November 4th
5 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Hayward High School
1633 East Avenue, Hayward
For more information, contact Moises Olmos molmos@husd.us

February 3rd
5 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Hayward High School
1633 East Avenue, Hayward
For more information, contact Moises Olmos molmos@husd.us

February 8th
5 p.m. to 7 p.m.
American High School
36300 Fremont Boulevard, Fremont
For more information, contact Chih-Ching Chow cchow1@fusdk12.net

February 17th
6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Castro Valley High School
19400 Santa Maria Avenue, Castro Valley
For more information, contact Allison Zuckerbrow azuckerbrow@cv.k12.ca.us